PORT review

Here is a link to a review of the show:

 http://www.portlandart.net/archives/2012/10/cumulus_at_nort.html

I agree with Mr. Jahn, especially his critiques, but I know who I am and I am pleased with what I’ve done. Surely other artists would have done something different with it, surely Mr. Jahn would have, too, but it was mine and I did exactly what I meant to do, raccoons and all. Being in love with craft can be a hard relationship to have in the contemporary art world-but I am! It’s part of the joy of making art for me and I suspect I will always struggle with the “crafty label”. I’m ok with that. I’m particularly interested where he says that craft is vanity. Vanity is rampant in the art world! Why pick on craft? I’m going to think about this for a while but it will likely be the subject of my next post.

Leave a Reply

