A pledge to myself

The past week has been pretty busy, only one week until the show opens, but I am trying to keep a 3 part pledge to myself:

  • Don’t exhaust myself.
  • Maintain sanity.
  • Don’t hemorrhage money.

I admit, my eating habits are out the window but I’m consciously reigning them back in. A sculptor’s greatest tool is their body and if it gets overworked or is poorly maintained, it can be dangerous. I mean if I expect to keep doing this I have to work realistically. I’m keeping the schedule I’ve set, within a few hours, and not working myself to complete exhaustion (a kind of tired John and I know as being “Curry” tired after a job we both used to work very hard at). Want to know what I do to take my mind off of things when I’m spent? Aside from gardening (which also feels like work at this time of year), I am memorizing a song for karaoke. I haven’t actually sang karaoke for a few years but I really enjoy learning a challenging song. I am learning Cantaloop by Us3 right now-very difficult. For the second part of the pledge, I am not getting too worked up over whether or not everything that I want to happen happens. It is what it is and it is what I made. What I am is what I am as Edie Brickell said.  What do you call an artist that acts like a panicky, fussy “it’s-all-about-me-today” bride? Artistzilla? The truth is, I usually get way more bent out of shape planning an installation than I did planning my wedding (and that thing nearly went off the rails!). And, just like the wedding, I could not pull this off without John’s enduring support and ability to suage cable (that is not a euphemism for the honeymoon)…  John seems to like this new, less insane version of me. Us still being in love after the show goes up is really important to me so there’s really no wiggle room on this part of my pledge. The nice thing about being in the space all summer is that I already know how people are reacting to the work. There won’t be this great unveiling where I am waiting for either applause or a solitary cough. That is extremely nerve-wracking. Also, I just feel good about this work and, as I mentioned before in a post, I’ve got this unshakable confidence in what I’m doing that I don’t think I have ever felt before (I might have written that, I probably deleted it). But I do! The final thing that I am avoiding for the last week of this installation is the “money hemorrhage”. Since you never really know what the installation will be until you arrive in the space, it is often necessary to make insane purchases just to get the damn thing to work once you get it there. Since I have had this space all summer I have been able to plan better and get what I need before I need it. The money-letting has been more of a trickle than a flood-which is good, because I’m all out.

All that being said, I need to stop worrying about writing this blog until the show is up. I can’t tell you how many times I have sat down at the computer after a long day-tired, elated, swirling with thoughts, memories and newly discovered connections-and I just couldn’t write anything (as evidenced by my last entry-eloquent it ain’t). I have been asked if I will continue the blog after the show is done and I have to say that’s a big 10-4. Right now I feel confined to talking about this show but I have an art related conversation nearly every day that I’d like to write about. So I’ll be back, soon.

No picture with this post, come see the show September 24th-October 26th! You really do need to experience it in person.Thanks for reading, Vicki

3 thoughts on “A pledge to myself

  1. So – a question from someone who has never created an installation: is there any reason that the world you have created in the gallery can’t continue to evolve during the month after the “opening”? I don’t mean to suggest that you create ever more details to enrich the environment but to suggest that the time pressure might not be quite so finite… unless that is a good thing.

    I am glad to read that you are somewhat rested, somewhat sane and somewhat solvent.:)

    1. Simply, practically, I need to focus on teaching when Fall term begins and I have another installation deadline in December. I feel pretty good about what I’ve done so I don’t think I need to do more-and yeah, I do like the pressure.I really don’t like loose ends.

      1. I keep forgetting about that job thing….. tying everything up makes perfect sense. I am excited to see all that you have done. Soon.

Leave a Reply

