The project begins

This week I am beginning a big art project. I have been graciously lent the 1900 square foot art gallery at Portland Community College-Sylvania campus in Portland, Oregon, for the entire summer. I have 3 months from now (end of June, 2012) to work in the space to build an installation which will open as the first show of the Fall term (end of September, 2012). I intend for the work to be accompanied by a performance piece.

This is the kind of opportunity installation artists dream of. So often, work must be made in a small studio for a larger space and it only comes together as it is being installed. Also, because shows are usually only a week or two apart, there is precious little time to install the work.

I will be working in the gallery studio on a regular schedule throughout the summer and students and staff of the college, as well as campus visitors are welcome to come in to the studio. I look forward to discussing the work, showing my process of model building and drawing, answering questions, allowing people to watch me work and, sometimes-if the work allows, inviting people to help me with a process.

Beginning July 2nd my set studio hours will be Monday-Friday 1pm-6pm (with the exception of 07-19 and 07-27). I will likely be in the studio on the weekend, too but if you want to come by you should contact me to be sure.

Here is the original proposal though changes are inevitable:

Working Title: Place/Displace

The installation consists of approximately 3-5 constructions which rise to the gallery’s ceiling. Each cardboard and paper construction is a home’s volume worth of replicated furniture and belongings. For the installation, the burdens will be shouldered by crouching, ¾ scale figurative sculptures. The entire installation will rise from a large shallow pool of water (approximately 25 ft wide x 75 ft long by 3 in deep). In the performances, the figures will be traded for performers who will shoulder the burdens as they wade in the shallow water.

The work is based on the images of destroyed domestic lives, architectural structures as well as belongings, referencing natural disasters as well as the ailment of hoarding. The inspiration lies in the psychological suggestion that the soul is a home, which I have experienced in the interpretation of the dreams I’ve had for most of my life. The cardboard material references disposability of objects and the ephemeral nature of a home in the face of nature.

One thought on “The project begins

Leave a Reply

